The Face of Genealogy Roaten Style

June 6, 2011 at 5:10 am 1 comment

Recently an article was published by LA Weekly about the upcoming Southern California Genealogical Society Jamboree being held in Burbank, California from June 10-12, 2011. A very distasteful picture was posted along with the article. It was offensive to me as it does NOT reflect the true faces of our Ancestors that lived, worked, fought in wars and made it possible for me to be who I am today.

I want to share with you just one photo that represents my side of “The Face of Genealogy”. This picture is of my grandfather (James Bonnie Roaten), my grandmother (Lee Arlon Coleman) and my mom (Betty Helen Roaten) as a young girl.

Entry filed under: Genealogy Prompt. Tags: , , .

What a Day! Saturday Night Fun: Two Truths and a Lie!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. David Roaten  |  September 13, 2012 at 5:58 am

    Very nice picture indeed!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed